Teacher Award

The recipient is a classroom teacher (Pre-K-12

  • facilitates the development of 21st Century Skills through the incorporation of technology in a meaningful context,
  • frames learning with project and inquiry-based approaches,
  • demonstrates an enthusiasm to share and promote effective academic technology use with others inside and outside the educational setting, and
  • is a model and mentor for other educators in creating a blended learning environment of content and technology 

The award winner becomes AzTEA's nominee for the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) Outstanding Teacher Award, unless ineligible as per ISTE's requirements.

Previous Recipients

2000 - Claire Matich - Cartwright Elementary School District
2001 - Joseph Pauley - Payson Unified School District 
2002 - Arlette Johnson - Creighton School District 
2003 - Michael Turturice - Tempe Union High School District 
2004 - Pamela Lee Hopkins - Sunnyside Unified School District 
2005 - Michelle Crary - Tempe Union High School District 
2006 - Michelle Ravnikar - Lake Havasu Unified School District 
2007 - Diana Laufenberg - Flagstaff Unified School District 
2008 - Robert Walling - Amphitheater School District
2011 - Gabriel Carrillo  -  Florence USD
2012 - Karen Mensing - Paradise Valley Unified School District
2013 - Peter Bartanen - Balsz Elementary School District
2014 - Susan Rodriguez - Whiteriver USD 2015 - Nicole Whitt, Vail Unified School District
2016 Elementary Teacher of the Year: Kristi Frederiksen, Cave Creek Unified School District
2016 High School Teacher of the Year: Dean Shaddy, Flagstaff Unified School District