AZTEA Ruth Catalano’s Leadership Service Award (Formerly AzTEA Leadership Award)

Dr. Ruth Lytle Catalano (1941-2013) was committed to education, teaching High School and later earning both her Masters and Doctorate in Education. She left the classroom, but not teaching, and started working at the Westside Area Career/Occupation Project where she began her lifelong dedication to technology in education. Ruth was the official "grandmother of AZTEA" and continued to promote technology in education through conferences, webinars, and working with the Arizona Department of Education. The nominee has Ruth’s passion and demonstrates interest, support and active participation in educational technology in any aspect. Nominees for this Award may have demonstrated excellence in this area through one or more of the following outcomes:

  • Is an educational colleague who migrated to and supports technology in education
  • Is in the public media arena supporting technology through supportive publications and report
  • Incorporates technology into his/her charities, avocations and personal lives for the better of students and education
  • Is an active “cheerful volunteer” promoting technology in education by volunteering his/her time and expertise

Previous Recipients

1999 - Dr. Chris Johnson - University of Arizona
1999 - Janine Muto - Mesa Public Schools
2000 - Dr. Ruth Catalano - Retired Educator 
2001 - Ray Moore - Gateway Community College 
2002 - Dr. Helen Padgett - Arizona State University West 
2003 - Ruth Camuse - Tempe Elementary School District 
2004 - Dr. Roger Yohe - Estrella Mountain Community College 
2005 - Hank Stabler - Peoria Unified School District (retired) 
2007 - Allen Swanson - Pima County School Superintendent's Office
2008 - Melissa Frey - Peoria Unified School District (retired) 
2008 - Peggy George - Washington School District (retired)/ASU-West

First Recipient of the Ruth Catalano's Friend of Technology Award
2014 - Peggy George, Retired Principal and active online facilitator
2015  - Dr. Nan Williams, CTO, Alhambra School District
2016 - Judith Romero, Retired Educator and ATEA ISTE Rep